Skip to content

Taking It Up a Notch

January 19, 2010
by

Lately I’ve been feeling a bit creatively stifled when it comes to knitting.  I primarily use somebody elses patterns for my projects.  Well, I want to change that.  I’m hoping that either this year or next I can maybe hit the craft fair circuit and see if I can make any money on doing what I love.  Or even better, coming up with projects and selling patterns on Ravelry.

The only way I can do this and feel as though I am keeping my integrity is to design for myself.  I ordered a few books on basic knitwear design that I hope will help me get the basics of knitwear construction down so I can expand and get creative.  In the least, I may be able to work through a lot of the crap yarn in my stash coming up with samples of my designs.  Except for the Red Heart.  That shit cannot be knit with.  Crochet?  Sure, I don’t have a problem with it, especially for afghans, but knit?  I’ve tried, and I just can’t do it.  It’s like fingernails on a chalkboard.  I’m not sure why there is such a difference, but there is.

The other books I picked up are on chainmail jewelry.  I picked up a book on it from the library and I’m intrigued.  I may pick up some supplies tomorrow and see if it’s something I’ll enjoy.  I suspect it is, there is something about it that made that creative part of my brain go *ding ding ding* and already the gears are turning with ideas.   A few of the designs look a LOT like visual crochet patterns, which really got me thinking of the possibilities.

What the hell am I going to do if I pick up jewelry making?  Make another blog?  Eventually I may have to create one blog for all my creative endeavors.  In fact, I’ll pick a name and reserve one now just in case.  One can never be too prepared.

Deep in my bones, I know that somehow, someway, I am meant to use my artistic and creative tendencies to create a career for myself.  And what better time to lay the groundwork than the present.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

