Skip to content

Don’t Forget Your Hat!

January 21, 2009
by

My fingers were busy this past weekend.  Not only did I knit a simple ribbed hat, but also ripped one I made last year and re-tooled it into my new favorite hat.

Simple Ribbed Hat made with Paintbox Merino Yarn:
Ribbed Hat

The ribbed cap is knit in 2×2 ribbing on size 8 dpn’s using Paintbox 100% merino yarn.  I wasn’t sure of the colors when I started, but really like how they subtly spiral around the hat.  For decreasing I ssk at the beginning of each needle and k2t at the end of each needle.

Color Work Hat with my own handspun and random black yarn:
Fair Isle Hat

This was knit on size 6 dpns.  I cast on 120 stitches and knit 2×2 rib for a few inches then a few inches of straight knitting in the black, then I jumped into the pattern.  For decreasing I divided the stitches evenly (groups of ten) and knit 8, k2t the first row of decreases, alternated with a row of straight knitting and reduced the number knit before the k2t by 1 every decrease round.  It made an attractive spiral pattern on the top of the hat.

I’m starting to really enjoy making hats.  They are relatively quick and I can get creative without a major time investment.  And, as I discovered, frogging one I don’t love doesn’t break my heart and make me mourn the hours lost on a knitting project.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 3, 2016 8:28 pm

    Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of
    any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get responses
    from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

